Saving a client’s credit card information

A client’s credit card information can be saved to their account for future use. This information can be saved by adding a credit card to the client’s profile, or by choosing to save credit card information at checkout when making a sale. You can also select to save credit card information at checkout for all clients by default. If saving credit card information by default is enabled, clients will have the option to opt-out of saving their information at checkout.

NoteThis setting will only save a client’s credit card information when a sale is made from the store.
NoteIf your business has multiple locations and a different merchant processor is used at a location, clients’ credit cards and other billing information is stored separately for that location. In this situation staff members must open a client’s profile from the staff back end of each location to view or change the billing information stored there.

In this article:

To add a saved credit card to a client’s profile:

  1. On the Top Nav Bar, click the Search button , and then enter the client’s information in the box. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
  2. In the dropdown list of clients that is displayed, click the client’s name.
  3. On the side menu, click Account.
  4. On the Account  menu, click Billing & Account Balance.
  5. Click ADD CREDIT CARD under the Saved Credit Card section.
  6. Enter the client’s credit card and billing information in the fields provided.
  7. Click SAVE.
    • If more than one payment method is saved to the client’s profile, after the card is saved you will have the option to select a default payment method. Set the Default payment method option to ON for the payment method you want the client to pay with by default.

To save credit card information at checkout:

  1. Make a sale.
  2. Under Select a Payment Method, click Virtual Terminal.

  1. On the Credit Card screen, enter the required credit card and billing information.
  2. Set the following options as required:
    • To save the payment method for the client, set the Save payment method to Client Account option to ON.
    • To set this credit card as the client’s default payment method, set the Default payment method option to ON.
    • To apply a payment plan, set the Apply payment plan option to ON. See How to apply a payment plan at checkout for more information.
  1. In the Shopping Cart, click Complete to finish the transaction.

To enable saving credit card information by default:

  1. Click the App Drawer button .
  2. In the App Drawer, click Setup.
  3. On the Setup menu, click Store Configuration.
  4. On the Store Configuration menu, click Store Settings.
  5. Under Save Banking and Credit Card Information, set the By default, client banking and credit card information will be saved for future transactions option to ON.

  1. Click SAVE.

To remove a saved credit card from a client’s profile:

  1. On the Top Nav Bar, click the Search button , and then enter the client’s information in the box. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
  2. In the dropdown list of clients that is displayed, click the client’s name.
  3. On the side menu, click Account.
  4. On the Account  menu, click Billing & Account Balance.
  5. Click the X in the top-right of the saved credit card that you wish to remove.
  6. In the confirmation box that appears, click OK.
Was this article helpful?
(53 out of 56 people found this article helpful)
Still need help? Contact us
Cancel